Toll-Free (800) 975-5661 ​

This weeks blog is more of a response to questions we receive about "shutting down windows"


The power button. The power button is an essential tool on your computer – or any device, for that matter. However, when it comes to shutting down your Windows computer, there are a number of different options available. If you ever wondered what the difference was between them all, look no further than this handy guide to the shutdown options in Windows.

Shut Down

Choosing to shut down your computer will begin the process of turning your computer off. If you have any open programs, you will be asked if you want to close them, and will generally be given a short amount of time before they are automatically closed and the computer turned off.

If you are working on a document, or anything that requires you to save your progress, it will not be saved if you allow the programs to be force-closed. It is essential that you save all of your work before you hit the Shut Down button.

Log Off

Logging off causes all of your open applications to be closed and will bring your back to the Windows login screen. If you have multiple profiles on your computer, you will be able to login as another user.

The important thing to note about Log Off is that this is the same as shutting down your computer. Your applications will be closed without any changes being saved. You will get a warning about this, but it’s always a good idea to save first, then log-off.

Switch Users

This is similar to logging off, as when you choose this option, you’re taken to the Windows login screen, and are able to log in as a different user. The major difference here is that your applications will not be closed, and any changes that you’ve made will still be available – assuming no one else sends the system through a shutdown.

If you have more than one user who uses your computer, and each has their own profile, switching users can be a great option. However, if one user decides to shut down the computer, all of your applications will be closed – and you run the risk of losing your work. It’s always a good idea to save your work before you log off.

Restart

Restarting your computer is a lot like shutting it down. All open applications are closed and your computer shuts down, actually going through a soft power cycle, restarting after a few seconds. You will then be taken either to the login screen or to the main desktop.

Sleep

This is sometimes referred to as “Standby” mode, and you can think of this like pausing a TV show or a movie. When you put the computer to sleep, all programs and processes are halted, but remain open – stored in the memory of the computer. When you wake the computer, all processes and programs will be open and useable immediately.

Putting your computer to sleep can be ideal if you are going to step away from your system for a short amount of time, but it generally isn’t a good idea to let your computer sleep for more than a few hours, as the computer can crash. When you put your computer to sleep, your work is NOT saved; but it will remain on the screen and open instead.

Hibernate

Hibernate is similar to Sleep Mode. The main difference is that all programs and work are saved. The computer effectively turns off, with some components of the like the memory, still switched on. When you wake your computer, all applications that you had open will reopen in the same state that you left them in. This is a great option for those times when you won’t be using your computer for an extended period of time, but want programs to stay open.

All of these different shutdown options have their uses, but whatever you choose, it’s a good idea to save your work regularly – just in case something goes wrong. If you need assistance or more information about all of the features that Windows has to offer, please contact us.

Until Next Time....I Gotta'Lotta to Say About Everything - #theChief 

Shut Down of Windows